top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePolaris DIY

Let's Talk about People Eating Fruit.


The sort of music I love enjoying is music that's creative on top of feeling inspired, and that's what I want to lead into this review with because I feel as if People Eating Fruit has yet to put out a piece of music that doesn't hold those qualities. When I was contacted about doing press for People Eating Fruit, prior to even listening to the music I knew what I was getting into. Produced by Paul Marchesani, the young genius behind the behind the scenes of some of our favorite Philly DIY Acts (Georgey V, Cerulean Blue, Forest Kids Collective,) fronted by talented songwriter Branden Bauer (Past Life, Line Leader) and keyboardist Paul O’Neill (Spiral Sounds, Gorpho, Bona to Vada) People Eating Fruit on paper is a Philadelphia DIY Super Group that I was more than eager to dive into. The Flowermouth Tape. Released at the spawn of 2019, I'm surprised it's a tape (digital album) I hadn't heard of or had bought to my attention until early this month. There's a sort of energy and presence that The Flowermouth Tape presents. It's childish and fun yet at the same time manages to be touching and very aware of what it is, which is a creative dive into Alternative Hip-Hop. Midway through the tape's opening track it becomes aware that this is more than an over the counter Alt Hip-Hop release, it uses the shell of a genre that's become predictable and drowned out and infuses it with the experience and personalities of the people behind the art. The Flowermouth Tape pulls you in with catchy almost formulaic yet lawless track and then holds you captive with nostalgic and dark tracks on its tail end. It shows the care and dedication to producing an album from start to finish, the importance of ordering tracks in a way that creates a very touching story told through beautifully artistic music. People Eating Fruit, is in every way, a band that I feel establishes a sort of creative dominance in a DIY scene that while isn't intended to be rivaled with creates the discussions of is something as creative as something else and does it even matter? Well, No. It doesn't matter unless you think it matters. Do I have opinions, sure everyone does but to me at the end of the day it's about the joy and pleasure in discovering music I hadn't heard before that makes me feel ways I hadn't done before, and People Eating Fruit does that and much more for me. I feel like we almost say this every time, and probably for good reason, but we really suggest you check out People Eating Fruit. Especially if you've like what's been described in our discussion here. They recently released an outstanding video for the track "SugarMan" which I believe will one day be one of those songs middle school kids find and say "You know this is about drugs, right?" even though I'm 90% sure it's not. Honestly, who knows. Feel free to check out the video for "SugarMan" and really dig into The FlowerMouth Tape while you're around. And like always, if you're down with what we do here at Polaris DIY, feel free to check us out on Social Media and give us a like and share. People Eating Fruit SugarMan The FlowerMouth Tape Polaris DIY


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page